NECO Faculty and Alumni in the Top Ten Nationwide

Twenty-nine faculty and alumni rank among the top eye care providers in the nation.

Newsweek announced their list of 2023’s Best Eye Doctors in America. Twenty-nine New England College of Optometry (NECO) alumni and faculty were recognized for their expertise. The list honors the top three hundred Eye Doctors–175 Optometrists and 175 Ophthalmologists–recommended by more than 5,500 optometrists, ophthalmologists, clinic managers, and other healthcare professionals across the country. Newsweek ranks the doctors using a scoring method of 80% recommendations by peers, 15% quality also scored by peers, and 5% awarded for accreditation.

The following members of the NECO community were ranked in the top ten optometrists in the United States. The third ranked Doctor is Alan Glazier, OD, ’93 who is a member of NECO’s Board of Trustees, a NECO Presidential Medal honoree, the founder of ODs on Facebook and Fluorescene Media. Additionally, he is the founder of Shady Grove Eye and Vision Care in Rockville, MD, plus a partner and business development executive with Keplr Vision. 

The fourth ranked Doctor is Paul Ajamian, OD, ’80, who specializes in ocular disease, cataract and glaucoma care as the Center Director at Omni Eye Services in Atlanta, GA. Additional alumni included in the top ten are Hardeep Kataria, OD ’12 who practices in medical optometry treating  glaucoma and dry eye in Pomona, CA; and Marc Bloomenstein, OD, ’94, a founding member of the Optometric Council on Refractive Technology and Director of Optometric Services at Schwartz Laser Eye Center in Scottsdale, AZ.

Dr. Nicole Pogue oversees students and staff at the Dimock Center

NECO faculty were also honored as the best eye doctors in the nation. Anita Gulmiri, OD, ’15, Assistant Professor of Clinical Optometry; Alexis Malkin, OD, ’08, Associate Professor of Optometry and Director of the Vision Rehabilitation Residency and Attending at NECO Center for Eye Care, Boston University Eye Associates, The Cotting School and Boston Medical Center; Nicole Pogue, OD, NECO Resident ’13, Assistant Professor of Clinical Optometry, Clinical Director of Optometry Services and Residency and Attending Optometrist at The Dimock Center; and Bob Dunphy, OD, Adjunct Faculty and staff Optometrist at the Boston VA Medical Center. 

Additional NECO alumni named among the best include Mina Sehizadeh ’09, Roxanne Achong ’98, Diane Adamczyk (Residency 1986), Matthew Alpert ’96, Corinne Casey ’11, Steven Ferrucci ’94, Murray Fingeret ’76, Gustavo Garmizo ’82, Stacy Hamlet ’01, Jeffrey Nyman ’72, Sean Phibbs ’86, Jake Pucci ’19, Harvey Richman ’91, Arielle Roberts ’16, Julie Rodman ’98, Judith Schaffer ’93, Boris Severinsky ’16, Craig Tisch ’95, Kathy Tortorici ’01, George Veliky ’99, and Michael Veliky ’92

NECO President, Howard Purcell, expressed his excitement and admiration for these alumni and faculty, “These distinguished doctors honorably share in NECO’s mission to change the way people see the world. We at NECO extend our appreciation for their commitment and contributions to the profession, the NECO community, and especially their dedication to excellence in patient care. Congratulations for this well-deserved recognition. We are #necoproud!”