Professional Licensure Disclosure

Latest review: July 2021 Office of Academic Affairs

In compliance with Federal Regulations, 34 CFR §668.43 (2019 Rule), and State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (SARA) Manual version 19.2, the New England College of Optometry provides the following disclosure related to the educational requirements for professional licensure in Optometry.

This disclosure is strictly limited to the College’s determination of whether its Doctor of Optometry (OD) educational program, if successfully completed, would be sufficient to meet the educational licensure requirements in a state for the practice of Optometry. This determination is based on the educational and curricular requirements of each state for licensure (excluding any special or temporary licensure that may be granted) and does not imply that other requirements for licensure do not exist or have been determined to have been met by this program or that any necessary approvals for clinical placements have been secured at the time of enrollment. The College cannot provide verification of an individual’s ability to meet licensure or certification requirements unrelated to its educational programming. Such individual determinations are made by state licensing boards, and are fact specific determinations.

This disclosure does not provide any guarantee that any particular state licensure or certification entity will approve or deny your application. Furthermore, this disclosure does not account for changes in state law or regulation that may affect your application for licensure and occur after the date of this disclosure. Enrolled students and prospective students are strongly encouraged to contact their State’s licensure entity using the links provided to review all licensure requirements imposed by their state(s) of choice.

NECO has designed an educational program curriculum for its Doctor of Optometry program that if successfully completed is sufficient to meet the licensure requirements for a Doctor of Optometry license in the following states/territories. State/Territory Board contacts list.

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • District of Columbia
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Mexico
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Puerto Rico
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming