Distinguished Alumni 2021 announced

The New England College of Optometry is honored to recognize its 2021 Distinguished Alumni honorees. Donald Korb, OD, FAAO, and Susan Primo, OD, MPH, FAAO.

Donald Korb, OD, FAAO, has always divided his time between practice and research, with 110 refereed articles and 60 US patents. He developed the CSI lens and is often referred to as the grandfather of modern thin disposable lenses. He has named and described 8 ocular conditions, including 4 of contemporary significance – MGD, GPC, Lid Wiper Epitheliopathy and Lid Seal. Dr. Korb has founded 5 research companies, including TearScience in 2006, acquired by Johnson & Johnson, where he conceived and was a co-inventor of LipiFlow, the Meibomian Gland Evaluator, LipiView and Dynamic Meibographic Imaging.  He is a co-inventor of Systane Balance, Systane Complete and Soothe XP, all lipid dry eye products. His inventions have resulted in 6 currently marketed products. Current academic appointments include Clinical Professor at both the School of Optometry, University of California, Berkeley and NECO. His 40 Honors include: Regents Lecturer, UCal  Berkeley; Member of 2 Halls of Fame, the Donald R. Korb Medal of the AOA and 3 honorary doctorates.

Susan A. Primo, OD, MPH, FAAO, is currently a Professor of Ophthalmology and Director of Optometry Services at the Emory Eye Center. Dr. Primo specializes in low vision/visual rehabilitation and is actively involved in vision rehabilitation research including low vision outcome studies in collaboration with Johns Hopkins University, age-related macular degeneration and cortical reorganization in collaboration with Georgia Tech and the Implantable Miniature Telescope clinical trials. Believing that strategic public health approaches to address visual impairment and loss are desperately needed, Dr. Primo received her MPH degree in 2002 in hopes of being in a position to help combat this problem.  Dr. Primo has worked tirelessly on numerous national committees to increase the presence of on-site eye care services at community health centers.

The award is given to alumni who have changed the optometric profession and countless patients’ lives. These distinguished alumni have furthered the optometric profession through their leadership and belief in the role optometrists can play in the diagnosis and treatment of patients. They each have taken a different path, yet one theme is constant, they collaborated and worked with others to move our profession forward and influenced future optometrists growth and development.