Skip To Main Content

NECO Students carry on the legacy of Dr. Fradkin, OD ‘43

Recipients of the Dr. Irving Fradkin Honorary Scholarship Program gathered in October to be honored for their scholarship and accomplishments. The seven Dr. Fradkin scholars from the Class of 2018 and 2019 each received a scholarship named after the New England College of Optometry alumni, a member of the class of 1943.

Recipients from the Class of 2018 are Jamie Brosof from Flourtown, Pennsylvania, Stacey Flynt from Albany, New York, Micaela Gobeille from Boston, MA, and Shreya Jayasimha from Edmonton, AB, Canada. Recipients from the Class of 2019 are Sukhdeep Dhami from Brampton, Ontario in Canada, Nicole Broden from Devils Lake, North Dakota, and Jessica Taylor from Aldan, Pennsylvania.  At the breakfast, a mix of first and second year students shared stories of their experiences at the College to date and their appreciation of Dr. Irving Fradkin, whose legacy they honor.

The recipients of the Dr. Irving Fradkin Honorary Scholarship program are chosen not only for their excellent grades and OAT scores, but for their work experience and involvement beyond in the community. This scholarship is part of the Scholarship America program, a program that is the culmination of a practice Dr. Irving began at his private optometry practice to support college students called Dollars for Scholars.  His program developed from a belief that if everyone in the community gave one dollar to an educational fund, it would help fund the college experience for all students in need. Scholarship America has awarded $3 billion to 2 million students over the past 50 years.

The Dr. Irving Fradkin Honorary Scholarship Program honors NECO alumni Dr. Irving Fradkin and his contributions to both optometry and fundraising for higher education.  NECO is proud to recognize Dr. Fradkin’s contributions.