Skip To Main Content

Class of 2021 Leadership Scholarship Recipients Announced

New England College of Optometry (NECO) is pleased to announce the Class of 2021 recipients of the Leadership Scholarships. The NECO Leadership Scholarship program is an interactive mentoring program that pairs first year students with professionals who share their knowledge, expertise and financial support in the form of a tuition stipend.

Four students from the Class of 2021 have been selected to receive this honor from the Class of 2021. They join a growing group of students in the Leadership Scholarship program.  Matthew Barnes, OD1, was paired with Drs. Clifford, OD ’68, and Mary Scott OD ’68, and Kathryn Kosteva, OD1, was paired with mentor Kristen K. Griebel, OD 97.  Lauren A. Thamel, OD1,  was selected to receive the Alumni Association Leadership Scholarship and Parthavi Patel, OD1, received the Pioneer Valley Leadership Scholarship. 

Traditionally, the Leadership Scholarship pairs one student with one mentor/donor. This past spring, a group of alumni, championed by David Momnie, OD ’74, joined forces to establish the Pioneer Valley award.  Dr. Momnie explains, “My hope for the group scholarship is to encourage bright and energetic graduates to consider practicing in Western MA.”  Interested individual or groups of alumni who wish to support a student through mentoring and financial support can reach out to  Tony Cavallerano, ​Director of Professional Relations at 617-587-5687 for more information on the Leadership Scholarship program.

Learn more about the Leadership Scholarship program.