Skip To Main Content

2015 Scholarship Ceremony Honors NECO Scholars

Scholarship recipients 2015

Students are recognized for their excellence, leadership, and service

Congratulations to the 2015 Scholarship Recipients at New England College of Optometry. This distinguished group of students was honored for their excellence in scholarship, leadership, and clinical expertise.

Dean Barry Fisch led the ceremony explaining the nature of each scholarship and the ideals they represent. Other presenters included Financial Aid Director Carol Rubel, faculty chairs Stacy Lyons and Steven Koevary, Alumni Association Past President Dr. Kristin Griebel, International Program Director Dr. Bina Patel, and Dr. Paul White.

Dean Barry Fisch led the ceremony explaining the nature of each scholarship and the ideals they represent. Other presenters included Financial Aid Director Carol Rubel, faculty chairs Stacy Lyons and Steven Koevary, Alumni Association Past President Dr. Kristin Griebel, International Program Director Dr. Bina Patel, and Dr. Paul White.

2015 Scholarship Recipients:

Scholarship Recipients 2015

Beider Moral Obligation Scholarship

Warren H. Beider, OD ’26, graduated when he was only twenty years old and practiced optometry for over fifty years. To honor his alma mater, he created this scholarship to honor academically strong students. This year’s award recipients are Kaylyn Cummings, Maria Denietolis, Ran He, and Abby Raposo.

Scholarship Recipients 2015

The Alumni Scholarship

Each year, the Alumni Association selects scholarship recipients based on record of service to the College and/or profession, and the potential for continued active participation in the alumni association, demonstrated community service, and academic performance. Representing the Alumni Scholarship Committee, Dr. Kristin Griebel, OD ’97, presented the award this year to Kaylyn Cummings, Rebecca Deffler, Blair Germain, Kathryn Hannis, Emily Humphreys, Rebecca Moran, Stephynie Sargent, and Katelyn Vilasi.

Dr. John Carter Scholarship: Kathleen Maloney

This scholarship was created to honor Dr. John Carter and his long, distinguished career in optometry and optometric education. This year’s recipient, Kathleen Maloney, was chosen for her excellent grades in all pharmacology coursework.

Scholarship Recipients 2015

Otto Hochstadt Scholarship: Katelyn Vilasi

This award was created by Otto Hochstadt, an influential faculty member who taught medical sciences. He helped the college gain approval to grant a bachelor’s degree and subsequently, an OD degree. Katelyn Vilasi was chosen as this year’s recipient for her outstanding hard work and remarkable GPA in the first year Bioscience curriculum.

Scholarship Recipients 2015

Stacy Rosemore Friedman Scholarship: Steven Weifenbach

This award was endowed to honor the scholarly and professional achievement of Fredric and Marion Rosemore’s granddaughter, a 2001 graduate of the College. The recipient is a student who maintains a strong academic record. Steven Weifenbach was selected for his academic accomplishments as well as his extracurricular activity at NECO.

Scholarship Recipients 2015

Israel and Sylvia Grossman Scholarship: Francesca Sefton

This scholarship is awarded to a student who has demonstrated academic achievement, and who is likely to be active in the profession and in the Alumni Association. Francesca Sefton was selected because of her accomplishments and potential as a leader in the field.

Edith and Erich Heymans Scholarship: Rachael Noah

This scholarship was create by the Heymans to honor the former NECO Business Manager’s fondness for the College. Rachael Noah was chosen to receive this award as a student of high scholastic standing who exhibits integrity, dedication, and a high level of accuracy.

Scholarship Recipients 2015

Monthe N. Kofos Scholarship: Elise Berthiaume

This scholarship was created by a gift from Dr. Kofos. It is given to Elise because of her potential to contribute to the profession and considerable academic achievement.

Scholarship Recipients 2015

Foster Namias Scholarship

The Class of 1950 initiated this scholarship to honor Dr. Namias and his fifty year tenure at the College. Mackenzie Barber, Kaylyn Cummings, Michael Merritt, and Evan Tirado were selected because of their outstanding academic performances.

Scholarship Recipients 2015

Harry and Sara Pildes Scholarship: Stacey Flynt

The Pildes family created this scholarship in honor of their parents and awarded to a first year student in the four-year program. Stacey was chosen for her academic achievement and potential to become an active and concerned member of the alumni body of the College and the profession.

Scholarship Recipients 2015

Wallace F. Molinari Scholarship: Lenna Walker

This award was established by Dr. Joseph Molinari, and is given to an entering student based on academic achievement and leadership. This year’s recipient was Lenna Walker.

Scholarship Recipients 2015

Charles Robert Soltes Scholarship: Sathyasri Narasimhan

This scholarship was created to honor Major Charles Robert Soltes, OD ’98, the first optometrist ever killed in action while serving on active duty in the US military. This award was established by faculty, staff, and friends of the College in his memory to honor his loyalty, integrity and compassion for his patients. Sathyasri Narasimham was chosen to receive this award.

VOSH ONE Student Grant Award: Laura Chan

The VOSH ONE scholarship was created to assist students interested in continuing humanitarian and volunteer optometric work in the community and abroad. Recipients are chosen based on their previous humanitarian work as well as their future impact. This year’s recipient, Laura Chan, serves as the VOSH student president and participated in the VOSH trip to the Dominican Republic last year.

Scholarship Recipients 2015

Klein Family Scholarship: Paige Frost

This scholarship honors Dr. Herman L. Klein, descendant of the founder of the College and president of the Board of Trustees from 1946 to 1950. Paige Frost was selected as this year’s recipient to acknowledge academic excellence prior to entering the College.

Scholarship Recipients 2015

Jean M. Lank Memorial Scholarship: Afua Opoku-Debrah

This award honors Dr. Jean Lank, who died shortly after receiving her OD degree at age 41. After serving as a registered nurse, she chose to pursue optometry while utilizing her vast knowledge. First year student Afua Opoku-Debrah, another former RN, was chosen for her embodiment of the spirit of this award.

Rose and Warren Gilford, Dr. Arnelda Levine and Dr. Janet Mechanic OD1 Award: Jaskiran Kaur

This award was created by Rose and Warren Gilford to honor the lives, distinguished professional achievement, and exemplary service of their friends, Drs. Levine and Mechanic. This award celebrates the influx of talented and qualified women to the optometric profession. Jaskiran Kaur was chosen to receive this award.

J. Pat Cummings Acuvue Scholarship: Laura Chan

This American Optometric Foundation award is offered to a student who best demonstrates the ideal eye care standards of practice, has demonstrated achievements in academic performance and extra-curricular activities, professional pursuits, patient involvement, community service, and volunteerism. This year’s recipient is Laura Chan.

Scholarship Recipients 2015

Dr. Robert Allard Compassionate Clinician Award: Kaylyn Cummings

This award is given to honor the compassionate and excellent clinician Dr. Robert Allard. Dr. Paul White detailed the compassion, warmth, and spirit of Dr. Robert Allard before presenting the award with Mrs. Allard to Kaylyn Cummings.